Archives New! Everything Else

2000-11-30 - 19:02:37


More Babble About Liars
Why is it that most of the fake diaries out there seem to portray assholes?

Here are my current theories:

One: I'm very gullible, and am more willing to believe that a "nice" diary is real and an "ass" diary is fake. This may be partly true, but I think I'm getting pretty good at spotting them. Of course, I could be wrong. No way to really prove or disprove this one, unless everyone who writes a fake diary suddenly admits it. (There are a couple of clues that you can use to instantly spot a fake diary, but not all of them leave them. And I know of some real jerks that I'm pretty sure are writing authentic diaries, so I'm certainly not going around believing that all mean diaries are fake.)

Two: It makes people react. Like trolls in a newsgroup, these people can't get enough attention by being nice, so they create an evil twin for people to be upset by and respond to. Then they sit back and laugh at the uproar. (I don't really understand this mentality, but I realize that it exists.)

Three: It's more fun to be a heel. These people are getting a kick out of being someone they "can't" be in real life. Not much else to say about this one.

Four: Er, this one's kind of nebulous, but I'll try. Everybody lies in their diaries. Well, not lies, exactly, but you have to choose what you say and how you say it, and by including some things and excluding others, you manipulate the impression that you're giving people. This isn't a bad thing; there's no way to record every single thing in your life. It's just part of reality. So a natural tendency would be to make yourself look as good as possible in your "real" diary. Creating a fake-asshole diary gives people who go a little overboard a release, a way to get out all the negative things they want to think or say but don't want other people to associate with them. (I think this one is a bit too psychobabble to be real, but it's an interesting train of thought.)

I'm sure there are more, but those are the ones I could think of off the top of my head.

Now: today's quotes. Which are all from 100% Quoted-certified Real Diaries.

From Sheepy

Ho ho ho, I wonder sometimes if my existence is just here so that a big man in the sky can go "Ho ho ho!"

But that's stupid, cause Santa's not god.

From Ruel

*NOTE TO SELF: Don't put things on your own Christmas list and then buy them for yourself, you stupid head.*

From TDImprov

there is a lot of things we don't want to know about the people we love.

From Sharpie (via Olympia) - except really from SNL's Jack Handey's Deep Thoughts, unless you believe the silly man who thinks that Albert Einstein said this:

P.S. - If you drop your keys in molten lava, let 'em go. Because man, they're gone.

From FadeIn

I'm updating from work today, and I'm starting to hate working here. I mean, for the last half hour, I've been rolling up scotch tape into little wads and launching them at the girl in the next cubicle over. Would you believe that she's not even responding?!?! And I know she's in there. It's just so unprofessional.