Archives New! Everything Else

7-March-2002 - afternoon


3-Day Update
For your entertainment, a list of songs that get stuck in my head while I'm walking, in order of frequency of appearance:

  • You're a Grand Old Flag
  • Hava Naguila (except, of course, it's the really annoying novelty version that goes "Hava naguila, have two naguila, have three naguila, they're really small")
  • One Ton Tomato ("Guantanamera")
  • some Led Zepplin song that I don't know the name of but the lyrics fit really well to a marching cadence
  • Jesus Loves the Little Children
  • I'm the Man (uncensored def jam version)

Pity me.

Donation Update: so far, we've raised $617! That's almost a third! WHOO~!

Here are some thoughts from people who've already donated...

Shuddup writes, "Earlier today I was moping about how screwed up the world is and how I hated everybody...and then I saw that you were doing something very much un-screwed up...so I decided to participate in my tiny little way."

AdamW answered "Why?" with "I couldn't think of a single reason why not."

Crankydragon donated because, "The other day while in the cafeteria at work, I was listening to a story on the news about whether mammograms were necessary. The final statement seemed to be that while they can be unpleasant and give false positives, they were still the best option we had for early detection. We should have better than that."

FindYourself writes, "I donated because my grandma had breast cancer. Fortunately she survived, but she had to have a mastectomy. I donated [this amount] because that is my grandma's birthday (and also, I am poor)."

Stormwachr writes, "I think that what you are doing and the people who do it, i.e. participants and Pollata Teamworks, is phenomenal. I myself participated as grew on the Alaska AIDS vaccine ride and am doing the European AIDS Ride and Experimental this year." (How cool! If I knew how to ride a bike, I would do one of those, too.)

JustJones writes, "My mom is a breast cancer survivor, it's been about six years or so now. Ooh, longer, actually. Go mom! And being adopted myself, I have no idea what my genes might spring on me."

Nividian writes, "Just letting you know that your effort in this walk is appreciated!"

For everyone else who's donated who didn't send email - enormous thanks! (If you've donated since about Tuesday, you're probably not on the list because quick and efficient, the notification system is not. If you don't see your name on the next list, let me know and I'll check up on it.) And if you haven't donated yet - hey, all the cool kids are doing it! Here's the original entry that explains what's going on, or you can go here to donate right now. The event is Avon Breast Cancer 3-Day Washington, D.C. 2002, and my walker number is 2038. If you'd prefer, you can print out a form and mail it in.

For those of you who are just lookin' for the quotes...


From Waterlily (sent by Menthe)

I, yours truly, am actually first on the list for the Google search for kick-ass boots. Which is, I mean really, an accomplishment.

From Ozmodiar (sent by Protoplast)

You are so beautiful you make me want to open fire in a crowded shopping center. I would let you play my spine like a banjo if you only asked. Girl, I would take you bowling. You make me want to buy things from infomercials and destroy myself in various other ways.

From Hadooga (sent by MadamSarcasm)

somebody from the us department of justice (usdoj.gov) visited this site after typing [ "stupid jokes" van halen ] into the search box at google. it's good to know that mr. ashcroft & company are on top of things.

From Falla (sent by Sukilicious)

Then I saw it. It was like finding the holy grail. It was Leprechaun 4: Leprechaun in Space!!!!! I give you the tacky extra exclamation points so you can understand the volume of my scream when I saw the title.
"Oh my God it's Leprechaun in SPACE!!!!"