Archives New! Everything Else

2000-10-13 - 16:53:29


Community?
I think I've talked about this before, or maybe I've just thought about it and never come up with a good entry for it. When does it stop becoming a diary and start becoming a community?

I know there are people whose diaries I read every day, who also read my diary every day. Sometimes people write special little paragraphs or things directed to one specific reader. Sometimes they say that that's what they're doing, sometimes not.

(I do it, but never admit to it. Hah! Not like I'm fooling anyone, but I suppose it makes me feel better.)

At the same time, maybe sometimes you don't write something, because you know that a certain person might be reading and disapprove. That, I think, is when it begins to not be a diary any more...

Last night, as I was making Marn's Grandmother's Peanut Butter Cookies with special added bonus chocolate chips that were China Cat's idea, I got into a really in-depth conversation about it.

BigBoy once asked, if there were to be a DiaryLand convention, would you go to it? (Sorry, I know he's password-protected now, but he did say he might take it off in the future and if he does, there's your link.) I think the question might have been meant rhetorically, but it's an interesting question. Do you want to go hang out with a bunch of people who know your innermost secrets, but not what you look like? Who know how often you have sex, but not your first name?

Is this a deep connecting with like-minded individuals across the globe, or is it an easy replacement for having real life relationships?

I'm asking because I don't know, not because I'm trying to get you to see things from my point of view. I've opened a guest book for this sort of thing. Discuss.

Oh, yes, and there are quotes today, of course.

From Human Capital

"Tell me, son, WHY did you do it? WHY did you apply for this job? I KNOW you got fired from your last two jobs. I know ALL ABOUT IT, but I want to hear it from YOU. TELL ME EVERYTHING YOU KNOW!"

From Timethian

Curse you, stomach! (argh! it revenges with bleeding ulcers! AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!)

From MuthaBear

It's all fine and dandy to smile over days gone by, but you can't go through life looking behind you.

Try it. You're bound to trip over something, fall, and feel like a stupid ass. You won't be smilin' so pretty then, will ya??

From Kraft-Dinner(via Jeffy)

Oh, to be a fly, and be able to buzz about and die within a matter of days!