Archives New! Everything Else

15-March-2002 - morning


Giant Entry for the Cause
Donation Update: so far, we've raised $716! That's $99 this past week, which is pretty impressive! For those who are wondering, most of the donations have been in the $2-$10 range, but the largest donation sent from here so far was $150. You know who you are. Go you! (Don't know what I'm talking about? Here's the original entry that explains what's going on.)

Here are some thoughts from Diaryland benefactors...

Tenderpoison wrote (among other things), "Actually, I see direct evidence of breast cancer. In the mammo office we deal with aspirations, biopsies, mammograms, ultrasounds and other procedures, without actually doing them ourselves. While detaching yourself from work is a good thing to do, one can't help but wince when a birad of 4 or 5 comes across the desk (denoting malignancy). Way too many patients whose information I've seen have had mastectomies, and others are are coming back for a biopsy, others still with pathologies confirming that they've got cancer. While it's a minority, it's still too many. Walk on, sister!!"

OnTheOutside writes, "i wish i could give more, believe me, if i could, i would. the thing i hate most about this world is that there is pain, especially for those who don't deserve it. i don't know anyone with breast cancer, but i know a lot of people with other problems just the same. i guess i'm just glad i could help out, in my own small way."

Freek24 has as good a reason as anyone: "I donated for fairly selfish reasons. I'm a firm believer that there should be as many breasts in the world as possible and I wanted to do my part to ensure that all that are here today will be here tomorrow."

FadeIn writes, "I did this because breasts are a national treasure and must be protected. besides, without breasts: no nipples."

Ginger writes, "i donated because i have breasts. simple as that."

GialloThang joins the Save the Boob club: "In response to your query as to why I chose to fork over some loot in honor of the almighty breastie: I've got some boobies, hate for them to be lobbed off. Be nice if there were some technology out there that does not entail a vicegrip on the suckers. Plus it's a great cause, boobs are important."

Throcky donated in honor of her friends. "...my reason for donating, aside from the fact that you are devoted enough to walk the walk while I just sit around and talk the talk is in honour of two magnificent women who have fought the good fight: For Denise, who befriended me at my lowest, who inspired me to get my butt out of the mental hospital, who introduced me to the beautiful voice of Marilyn Horne. And for Barbara, who held my hand throughout graduate school, who was my dissertation director, and who keeps on encouraging me to publish publish publish. Thank you."

Amelindasue writes, "I want to personally thank you for going through with this walk. Personally, it means a lot to me. There is not a single woman over the age of 25 on either side of my family who has been able to keep her breasts. It's a cause that I

care about deeply, and it makes me extremely pleased that you are using your diaryland popularity to try to help such a cause. On behalf of myself and my entire family, thank you very much, and good luck!"

Angelgirl95 writes, "My mom used to sell Avon and she was very big on breast cancer awareness that they are huge in support on. I hope you get a lot of support and good luck."

Greengrl writes, "I just wanted to say thank you for participating in the Avon Breast Cancer 3-Day event. My mom has had breast cancer twice -- both times a survivor. I've seen her go through radiation and a lumpectomy when I was 16, and then chemotherapy and mastectomy when I was 26... She's a tough woman, but it's a tough fight...
It means a lot to me that people care enough to walk, not only for themselves and their families, but it affects mine too."

Gizmogrey writes, "I had a grandmother and four aunts die from breast cancer, there is no doubt that I will get it I think.
Anything to help the cause and I am so happy that you are doing your part. I wish I had the preperation and courage to walk those many miles like you,but if I could have a part in it,than I will try my darnest."

Ignominy writes, "hi. just dropping you a line to let you know that i donated under your name. i think this is an amazing cause that you're walking for and i greatly admire you for it."

LucasMommy writes, "Just wanted to let you know I just made a donation to support you. I had a grandmother who had breast cancer. She survived it, but had to have a radical double mastectomy. My grandma passed away some years later from an unrelated illness, but looking back, I can see how brave she was. And...how amazing it is that she survived breast cancer at that time."

I have to comment on this, because it's similar to my story. My grandmother was raised by her aunt, who had a radical double mastectomy when she was in her late 30s. It came out later that the doctors weren't even sure she had cancer, but back then, there weren't many options. In 100 years, the technology has gotten a lot better... but it should be even more impressive than that. Where are my stats? Oh, here they are. A report from the National Cancer Institute (NCI) estimates that about 1 in 8 women in the United States (approximately 12.8 percent) will develop breast cancer during her lifetime. The American Cancer Society estimates that in 2002 about 203,500 new cases of invasive breast cancer (Stages I-IV) will be diagnosed among women in the United States. In situ breast cancer accounts for about 54,300 new cases each year. In situ (Stage 0) is noninvasive and is the earliest form of breast cancer. An estimated 1,500 cases will also be diagnosed among men.

For everyone else who's donated who didn't send email - huge smoochy thanks! (If you've donated since about Tuesday, you're probably not on the list because quick and efficient, the notification system is not. If you don't see your name on the next list, let me know and I'll check up on it.) And if you haven't donated yet - hey, all the cool kids are doing it! You can go here to donate right now. The event is Avon Breast Cancer 3-Day Washington, D.C. 2002, and my walker number is 2038. If you'd prefer, you can print out a form and mail it in.

The non-boob quotes follow...


From Shoiryu (sent by Rephaim)

Shut up. I'm drawing a penis monster on your back.

From Cephy (sent by Ursamajor)

It was interesting as fights go- two girls, both of whom I consider friends, arguing over things as usual, when it suddenly, inexplicably came to blows.

One swung a few bags of frozen cod at the other and it was on.....

From TheShivers (sent by Inarticulate)

Monday night I had another Rory moment as I filled out one of the applications: "List Publications and Inventions"

OK, publications I can do but INVENTIONS!?!? F**k, I forgot to invent something! Do I still have enough time? I�ll never invent something in two days... I�ll bet Paris has already invented tons of things!

From Coffeeadikt (sent by Ravengreen)

I like yelling "I don't believe in fairies" and then clapping a lot just to pretend that somewhere TinkerBell is complaining about having fallen and not being able to get up.

From LaCorneille (sent by Belle-Chan)

Retainers are only moderately irritating, and less so the less you wear them. I just wish mine glowed in the dark.